Home > Reading FC News > Play-Off Final – Ticketing Problems?

Play-Off Final – Ticketing Problems?

May 20, 2011

Hello All,

One of our readers has brought to our attention problems they’ve had getting tickets for the final, particularly with regards to Ticketzone and the way things have been run down at the Mad Stad. If anybody wants to offer their own experiences or comments, positive or negative then please drop as an email at thetilehurstend@gmail.com.

We’ll pass any of your comments onto the club and give them the full right to reply.

Categories: Reading FC News
  1. Tracey
    May 21, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Ticketzone are totally rubbish!! we booked our tickets, the money was taken from our account and then returned to us for no apparent reason!! We are now unable to get through on any of the RFC or TicketZone telephone numbers to speak to anyone about this. Sorting this mess out looks set to be a major production as I have already spent half an hour on redial listening to an engaged tone!

  2. Ray Faherty
    May 21, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    The service offered this morning was appalling. I tried on the phone and the web simultaneously for almost two hours. I never got through on the phone, and a series of error messages online, website busy, server down or only 1 seat left in the row. Finally got to Credit Card screen, input details, but still not sure if I have secured tickets. Travelling down from Scotland, beginning to panic.

  3. Paul
    May 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I must of been lucky managed to book four tickets through ticketzone by 9.30 on the first day of sales . Just thought I would try to balance it out a bit .

  4. Jamie
    May 21, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Ticketzone are utterly useless. Pure farce.

    I have now completely given up home of getting tickets without paying 6 times the ticket value. Tikets are widely available on other websites in quite large numbers with highly inflated prices.

    I gave up on the phoneline after 2 hours of it being permanently engaged and the website crashed every time I used it from 9am to midday this morning.

    I have just been back on the website and their system is telling me I cannot now buy tickets as I have apparently already bought them and they are registered against mine and my friends members cards even though they do not even have my bank details as I couldn’t get that far through the booking.

    A truly awful website and as I can’t get through to explain their mix up on the telephone I cannot get the issue rectified.

    Guess I’ll just have to settle for watching the game on TV.
    Absolutely gutted.

  5. dafydh
    May 22, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I started dialing at 09:00, eventually got thru after 45min to be lost in there queuing system so had to hang up. Got thru after 2hrs on the website after about 30 crashes. Where I work we have have sites that can handle millions of downloads per day, how can these companies not to the same.

  6. Geri Briggs
    May 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

    We have a mixed party of ST & MC holders for the final.I spent most of Thursday morning attempting to buy tickets for the ST holders via TZ – lost track of the number of times I got halfway thruogh the process only to get locked out, and again yesterday for the MC holders. Fortunately for my friends,someof whom live in the West Country, I am 10 mins from the Mad Stad and both times was able to go and buy in person having eventually given up online. Both Thurs pm and this morning there were almost no queues, friendly and helpful staff @ RFC. Someone should put in a formal complaint on behalf of our fans for the collosal frustration and waste of time the inefficiency of TZ has caused us, its just unacceptable.

  7. Al Boy
    May 22, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Ticketzone… completely and utterly unfit for purpose. By all accounts if you are lucky enough to get past the endless engaged tones, lines dropping etc to actually speak to a human, they are actually fairly competent. However if you’re online then it’s luck of the draw… member card details not being recognised, spurious website error messages, pages closing unexpectedly, doubts over whether the tickets have actually been purchased… etc, etc. Just look at Planet Swans (Swansea City fan page) or even back to Carlisle Utd for the Johnstone’s paint trophy and it’s obvious that Ticketzone are frustrating more than just Reading fans. Apparently if you clear out your internet browser history and try again, or use a non-Microsoft web browser then you stand half a chance of getting your tickets…(well it worked for me and quite a few others) but isn’t that just ridiculous in this day and age, not to mention numerous other frailties with the website. To make matters worse you pay an admin surcharge of nearly £3 a ticket and all for wasting a couple of hours of your life getting frustrated with a seriously naff ticketing system…

  8. mike
    May 22, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Can only agree with all the comments expressed on ticketzone.I spent 2 hours on Saturday morning from 9am trying to buy tickets -got close 6-7 times to selecting seats and was thrown out of the system. Eventually gave up and went to the stadium and got tickets. Two other fans I know of had the same issue as did all the people in the queue at the Stadium I talked to who gave up on ticketzone as well. So fairly widesread problems on Saturday morning.

  9. johnt1871
    May 23, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    so get down to the stadium and buy a ticket like the rest of us, there are 39k + fans who all managed to get a ticket

  10. May 24, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I’ve just seen this on one of my mate’s facebook status, I really feel for him!

    to anyone that bought Wembley tickets from ticketzone.. check you actually have the tickets.. as i’ve just found an email in my fucking spam folder telling me there was a problem with my purchase.. even though the website was working fine got an email confirmation, plenty of money in account etc..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment